Breaking news
  1. Wake Forest PF Dinos Mitoglou to Forego Senior Season
  2. Mitoglou in Green
  3. Individual Player Recap: Konstantinos Mitoglou
  5. Wake Forest’s Dinos Mitoglou gets by with help from Greek friends

Panathinaikos B.C. (Greek: ΚΑΕ Παναθηναϊκός), known as Panathinaikos Superfoods, and also known simply as Panathinaikos, or by its full name, Panathinaikos BSA Athens, is the professional basketball team of the major Athens-based multi-sport club Panathinaikos A.O. It is owned by the billionaire Giannakopoulos family.

The parent athletic club was founded in 1908, while the basketball team was created in 1919, being one of the oldest in Greece. Alongside Aris, they are the only un-relegated teams with participation in every Greek First Division Championship until today. Panathinaikos has developed into the most successful basketball club in Greek basketball’s history, and among the best in Europe, creating its own dynasty. They have won thirty-five Greek Basket League Championships, eighteen Greek Cups, nine Doubles (all records), six EuroLeague Championships, one Intercontinental Cup and two Triple Crowns. They also hold the record for most consecutive Greek League titles, as they are the only team to have won nine consecutive championships (2003–2011), as well as for the most consecutive Greek Basketball Cup titles (six in a row 2012 to 2017). The team plays in the Olympic Indoor Hall, which has a capacity of 18,989 for basketball games.

Among the well-known top class players that have played with the club over the years are: Fragiskos Alvertis, Edgar Jones, Antonio Davis, Nikos Galis, Stojko Vranković, Arijan Komazec, Alexander Volkov, Žarko Paspalj, Tiit Sokk, Panagiotis Giannakis, Dominique Wilkins, Fanis Christodoulou, Marcelo Nicola, Hugo Sconochini, Byron Dinkins, Byron Scott, Dino Rađja, Dejan Bodiroga, Oded Kattash, Ferdinando Gentile, Željko Rebrača, Johnny Rogers, Antonis Fotsis, İbrahim Kutluay, Jaka Lakovič, Pepe Sánchez, Kostas Tsartsaris, Mike Batiste, Dimitris Diamantidis, Nick Calathes, Vassilis Spanoulis, Dejan Tomašević, Sani Bečirovič, Tony Delk, Drew Nicholas, Jason Kapono, Stéphane Lasme, Roko Ukić, Šarūnas Jasikevičius, Ramunas Siskauskas, Robertas Javtokas, Jonas Maciulis, John Salley, Ioannis Bourousis and Nikola Peković. Such players, the successful management of former long-time presidents Pavlos Giannakopoulos and Thanasis Giannakopoulos, and the long-time guidance of the most successful coach in EuroLeague history, Željko Obradović, have made Panathinaikos the most successful team in Europe over the last two-and-a-half decades.

Panathinaikos is the only team on the European continent to win as many as six EuroLeague titles, since the establishment of the modern era EuroLeague Final Four format in 1988 (no other club has won more than four EuroLeague championships in this period).

They hold a long-term rivalry with Olympiacos, and matches between the two teams are referred to as the “Derby of the eternal enemies“.

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.